top of page

Cleaning Therapy


It's very nearly March and I've finally put missing Christmas behind me and started looking forward to some warm weather and some sunshine (fingers crossed). Spring brings with it some inspiration in itself, as everything starts waking up and coming back to life. I feel like I'm doing the same.

So here at Boost HQ I'm starting my spring clean early and making the most of the time I have before I get back to work full time. If I'm to manage a full time caseload of clients, and a blog, I want my home to be in order. Here's hoping the Husband can keep it that way!

There's something about a clean house that also cleans your head. I love knowing that the rotten crust of bread that had fallen behind my microwave isn't there any more, and that I could literally eat my dinner off the kitchen floor. I'm de-cluttering as I go, and getting rid of stupid crap that I don't need and don't want anymore. I threw away about 7 pairs of old filthy shoes that were taking up a lot of space in my cupboard. I'm ashamed!

I once saw an article in a woman's magazine that said :

Now this pissed me off, because believe me, there's a lot more that inspires me more (and most women I know) than a 'pristine mop', but I did actually buy a new mop today, and I've been admiring my clean kitchen floor all day.

So if you are also inspired to have a spring clean this weekend, here's a few things you can do that you'll thank yourself for later:

Get rid of things that aren't a necesessity or don't bring you joy. If you see something in your home that you don't need, and doesn't make you happy, get rid! Your home should be a useful, functioning and inspiring place, and too much 'stuff' makes it hard to appreciate the things you really love.

Clean behind and under furniture. You may not be able to see it, but damn it feels good to know there's nothing horrendous going on under there (anymore!). It's also good for your air quality in your home not having years worth of dust and hair festering away out of sight.

Clear out drawers and cupboards and bin the stuff that's out of date or not needed anymore. Everyone's got a 'junk' drawer....I've got about 6, and I've got a lot more useful storage space now I've binned most of the crap that I was keeping for no reason at all. Putting things back into a clean drawer or cupboard, in an organised manner, is deeply satisfying, and saves you time when your looking for something later on. You may also realise, like I did, that you don't need to buy chopped tomatoes for quite some time!

Invest in some good storage containers. From clothes storage bags for under the bed, or little baskets to put bits and pieces in, you'll thank yourself when you have more usable space where you need it, and some attractive ways of hiding unsightly things that ruin the look you're going for.

And lastly, blast the tunes, have a bit of a dance, light the scented candles and if you're lucky enough to have others in your home, rope them in too! You'll be smug and chillin' in your show home in no time!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page