top of page

Inspiration: It's OK to stop!


Motivational Quote Wellbeing Blog Wiltshire

It's Monday, which means we're all in need of a little motivation for one reason or another, and today's is all about reminding yourself and that it's OK to stop trying so hard sometimes. As you all know, I got back from my holiday a week ago, and since then, have had a lot to get on with at work, a bombshell of a house to tidy up, and a small summer heatwave to enjoy. I haven't been back to the gym yet, and this is the first I've done on the blog in about 3 weeks! I was full of good intentions on Friday; planning to spend the weekend getting ahead with some creative brainstorming for the blog, and putting hand to keyboard to get some new posts together. I did none of that. It's actually 9pm on Sunday and I've only just had a chance to even draft something!

Initially I felt guilty that I'd not stuck to my plan, but then thought...."no...you know what!? It was sunny, you had fun with family and friends...it's OK!". And it is OK! In fact it's more than OK, it's necessary and vital in life to sometimes ditch the plans to be productive and rest instead. And I did rest, and I have to say, I feel a lot better for it. Yes the house is still a mess, no I don't have anything written for the week, and yes my to-do list is still as long, if not longer, but I'm now feeling a lot more capable of actually doing those things than I did before.

Last week I started working with a client who is facing some dire circumstances, and was exhausting himself by constantly thinking and working towards trying to sort out a way through it. My advice to him was, in the midst of all this catastrophe, to take some time to relax. We discussed some options, and he seemed skeptical that he'd ever be able to do any of them, but I hope he did. He's the motivation behind this week's motivation Monday, and my inspiration for taking some time to relax prior to another busy week.

I hope this weekend also gave you some time, to stop, rest and blossom!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page