top of page

'My Why'- Developing a mission statement for life


My brain hurts! I've been pondering this page in my Daily Greatness Journal for some time and I'm sick of all the cheesy psycho-babble that keeps coming to mind. Basically I've got to sum up what I want my purpose in life to be, and what meaning I want my life to have. All that I seem to be able to come up with is so chunder-worthy I can't bring myself to soil the page with it. I would imagine that's probably the point, but it's the sort of question normally directed to a 'Miss World' contestant and they reply with "I want world peace". I ain't that kind o' gal!

It got me thinking that it's the first time I've come across the idea of coming up with a personal 'mission statement' for life. You see it on company websites a lot; what their aim is as a company and what their principles are, but it's something I've not personally thought of for my own life. I actually love the idea of identifying a blue print for how you want your life to play out, and think it's a great way of focusing on what your principles and morals are, so you know how to ensure you are living life the way you want to.

So how do you sum up what you want your purpose to be? Here is how I tackled this question.

Brainstorm a list of your values and principles:

Inspiring Fun Kind Loving Funny Trustworthy Dedicated Supportive Success Creativity Brave Honest Integrity Family Travel Original Beautiful Sophisticated Approachable Friends

Now list 3 or 4 of your top goals in life:

1. To make a successful career supporting others and making a difference to their lives.

2. To be a fun and loving wife and mother

3. To see more of the world and other cultures

4. To have a beautiful home, and maybe a second one in another country!

Now try to blend the two together:

"I want my purpose in life to be to inspire others, both in my career and at home, by being dedicated in supporting people in a friendly, loving and approachable way. I want my life to be filled with family and friends, and the freedom to travel and see the world. I will appreciate what I achieve, and aim to never lose interest in the original and unique experiences I can be part of. I intend to be brave when times are tough, and maintain my integrity in the ways I choose to cope. I will strive to look after myself inside and out, and to maintain sophisticated creativity in the way I look and the homes I will create. I want people to remember that I am fun and optimistic, and that I made them feel happy."

I think it's important to keep your 'why' statement concise and simple, and not try to cram too much into it. I'm finally happy with mine, and think it includes everything I think is important, and what I want to do with my life. It took a lot of reworking and thinking, but I'm proud of my 'mission statement' for life. I plan to print it out and stick it on my inspiration wall!

What would yours include? Leave us a comment below and let us know what your 'why' is!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page